Skip to content
June 26, 2012 / Jess

The Story of Ian & Larissa

Dear Army,

My soldier didn’t want to go to Kuwait. If he was going to give up a year of his life and return home to unemployment, he wanted it to be for a purpose.

Neither one of us sees much point in him serving in Kuwait. (Which is not to say that I know much of anything about his mission, since that’s classified. But I’m well aware that they are a garrison force, a just-in-case placement, and I don’t agree with that on a number of levels. This is not classified. It was just in the news again last week.)

I feel badly for him, that he gave up his freedom without gaining a purpose. It’s a trait I will never fully understand because it is not one I possess – the willingness to sacrifice all that you have for your country. But I saw the struggle on his face (when I got to see his face); I see it in his letters, and in every piece of military literature that talks about such things that I read.

He is grateful he is not in danger. His life will not be sacrificed … or, as happens far too often, wasted. His time, maybe (probably), but not his life.

I thank God for that every day. I pray that if he cannot come home yet, and it seems that he cannot, that he stays in Kuwait – miserable, if necessary, but always safe.

I saw this video almost two months ago, and think about it almost daily. The video is about civilians but it’s a scenario war can and does cause. It is a scenario I often thought about in the middle of the night, as I tried to decide if I was strong enough to date a soldier.  It is painfully beautiful.

I’m grateful that this deployment will not create that path for us.

I’m convicted by Larissa’s strength.

And I’m totally buying that John Piper book.

(Not) love,

Jess

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Heidi / Jul 4 2012 9:32 pm

    Oh, I saw that video awhile back too! Very thought-provoking. My initial reaction was something like, “And here I thought *I* was signing up for something!” So much in life is perspective.

Leave a Reply

