Skip to content
May 3, 2012 / Jess

Don’t Make A Wish

Dear Army,

Today is my 27th birthday, and I’m feeling melancholy because the best gift I’ve ever known is spending the day with you.

It’s been pointed out to me that I’ve spent many birthdays without him (all of them, actually), and I have the rest of my life to spend birthdays with him.

I know, and I hope so.

It will still be a good birthday – he’ll find a way acknowledge it and make sure I feel special. A few friends are coming over, and I fully intend to wear both sweatpants and a paper crown while we enjoy fruit dipped in my chocolate fountain. Comfort and silliness and chocolate. That’s pretty much how I roll.

Still, it’s bittersweet without him here, and it’s hard for me to know that this day will be harder for him because of me. I know he wants to be with me today, just as much as I want him to be here.

I won’t make a wish when I blow out the candles this year. I know it won’t come true. You won’t let it.

But by the time I’m 28, you won’t have a choice – I will have my love.

And you are not him.

(Not) love,

Jess

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tracie / May 3 2012 9:11 am

    Happy birthday. Enjoy the chocolate and sweatpants 😉

  2. Jess / May 5 2012 9:32 am

    Thank you. I did. I enjoyed the unexpected video chat more though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

