Skip to content
April 26, 2012 / Jess

Mail Fail

Dear Army,

I want to break up with you for that moment you gave me just moments ago.

That moment where I sprinted – my hands full of stuff – across my parking lot to get to my mailbox, like a crazy person,  just to learn that while mail gets to Kuwait in 6 days from America … it takes longer to get to me from Kuwait.

Grr. I had been looking forward to opening my mailbox all day, especially since I haven’t heard from my love in a day and a half.

Thanks for the reminder that you’re mean in ways I can’t even think of, until they happen.

(Not) love,

Jess

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Tracie / Apr 26 2012 10:34 pm

    Free mail is awesome 🙂 Hang in there.

  2. Jess / Apr 26 2012 10:48 pm

    Mail is the best. I CAN’T WAIT for my first letter. But, clearly the Army (and God) are working on teaching me patience. I’m just reluctant to learn, I guess.

    Thanks for your well wishes! I’m doing pretty well – and we’re doing better than the situation should probably allow. I might be cranky with a side of snarky, but I’m well aware that I’m also very lucky 🙂

  3. aloh / Apr 28 2012 6:41 pm

    Even during Ranger School (it’s officially over!) I had this problem. Definitely an Army thing generally. And with this entry, I definitely share you “not love” sentiments. Hang in there (which I know sounds like an empty expression)– I know how much a letter can make the world go round.

  4. aloh / Apr 28 2012 6:42 pm

    Hang in there (which sounds like an empty expression of support, I know). But, seriously, I know how much a letter can make the world go round. Even during Ranger School (which was in the flipping US) mail took forever coming to me. I share your “not love” sentiment on that one.

  5. Jess / Apr 28 2012 11:37 pm

    I did end up getting my mail. It was everything I needed it to be. Yay for Ranger School being over! When do you get to see your guy???

Leave a Reply

