Skip to content
April 22, 2012 / Jess

Contagious

Dear Army,

Six weeks ago, my soldier called to let me know that he would be let out of quarantine and allowed to come home for leave.

“Will you still be contagious?” I asked.

“Yes,” he replied.

“Well, I guess I’m getting mono then,” I said.

We had a good laugh about it, but I often wonder if my soldier and I will ever laugh about something that is actually funny.

As a Christian, I’m called to forgive. But just as the mononucleosis virus will linger in my guy’s system for a lifetime, I wonder if my anger toward you will ever fad. As a girlfriend, all I have to do is think back to the cough of undiagnosed pneumonia and the thin rasp of a man past exhaustion to know that I’m not there yet.

Army, you made him physically ill and then you told him he was fine, when he and so many others obviously weren’t. I may not have caught mono, but the situation still makes me feel sick.

(Not) love,

Jess

Leave a Reply

